How do you fish for reds??

This area is for general discussions about fishing, rigging, baits, etc.

Moderators: bman, Chalk, Tom Keels

Hit-n-Miss

How do you fish for reds??

Post by Hit-n-Miss »

We will be fishing this weekend from a boat set up to get in and fish the grass line and creeks (Hewes with poling platform and trolling motor) What lures work best for you and are easy to work. I can’t walk the dog to save my life. Even though I’ve been fishing the gulf for thirty years I’ve only caught one keeper red. Sad I know. Thanks for any help that can be given.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Redbelly
Site Sponsor

Re: How do you fish for reds??

Post by Redbelly »

Gold spoon....chunk and reel it in steady....I like the old Capt Mike's that I think are called Aqua dream? They have them at Kevins.

Also the gold spinner baits for reds. I make my own.

Also I have had great luck with a jig head and a 4" gulp, usually glow. On high tide fish right up in the grass. Don't ignore an oyster bar!
Work 2 fish 4 days

1988 vintage 1436 Fisher Jon
1992 vintage 15 hp Merc
Blue spinner
Site Sponsor

Post by Blue spinner »

we use Redfish Magic spinnerbait and Gold spoon
One thing about the speed of light it gets here too early in the morning
dombern34
Site Sponsor

Post by dombern34 »

I believe you can honestly catch a Red off anything. as long as you present it in the right way and the conditions are right, they'll eat. can't go wrong with a Gold Spoon or a top water. if you can't "walk the Dog" getting a popping style bait. I would grab a Gold Spoon (aqua dream) cast it around and hopefully gain some confidence in it and keep grinding. good Luck!
Redbelly
Site Sponsor

Post by Redbelly »