Dog Island this weekend

This area is for general discussions about fishing, rigging, baits, etc.

Moderators: bman, Chalk, Tom Keels

Jenks30fb

Dog Island this weekend

Post by Jenks30fb »

Are there any reports for Dog Island lately? Between weather and family, I haven’t had a chance to go out for 6 weeks. Plan on launching from Lanark Saturday AM, catching bait, then try to head out to 50’. This is my first year fishing the area and I am not sure I need to hit 50’ for grouper or if they’ve moved in shallower by now. Any help is greatly appreciated. Calling for 2-3 seas, so I’m not sure if I’ll brave it in a 21 CC or not. Thanks!!
Salty Gator
Site Sponsor

Re: Dog Island this weekend

Post by Salty Gator »

Good luck, post up a report
Catholic girl pray for me, you’re my only hope for heaven
bbb

Dog Island this weekend

Post by bbb »

We always fished around 45-50ft. We catch about 10-15 shorts for every keeper. Haven’t been yet this year though so I don’t know where they are currently.

Take lots of pinfish out there and I’m sure you will find some.

According to the windfinder app, the afternoons may be a little more calm.
Jenks30fb

Post by Jenks30fb »

Thanks for the info. I did decent in 50’ this summer on 23-3/4” gags. I’m hoping some of the better fish have moved in. Seas are down to 1-2 now so it looks like I’m gonna give it a shot. I’m hoping the pinfish are still on the grass. I’ll post my findings.
silverking
Site Sponsor

Post by silverking »

Better take some frozen bait and bucktail or butterfly jigs as a backup. When I was on the flats last week the pinfish were scarce and water temps have dropped since. Buddy reported the same scenario around Lanark.

Good luck. Hope you have a successful day.
"Sun rise and sun sets. Since the beginning, it hasn't changed yet." Little Feat
Jenks30fb

Post by Jenks30fb »

What’s the best frozen bait for grouper? And do you fish it whole or cut?
silverking
Site Sponsor

Post by silverking »