Trolling for Kings

This area is for general discussions about fishing, rigging, baits, etc.

Moderators: bman, Chalk, Tom Keels

Redbelly
Site Sponsor

Trolling for Kings

Post by Redbelly »

If going out of St Marks, what depth or general area would be good to troll for Kings? Like in this July heat?
Work 2 fish 4 days

1988 vintage 1436 Fisher Jon
1992 vintage 15 hp Merc
Srbenda

Re: Trolling for Kings

Post by Srbenda »

I'm not an expert but 30+.
You can get some nice sized Spanish in 20+
All photos copyright @saverymill
4reels

Post by 4reels »

I’ve never trolled for kings in St. Marks. We had a lot of success early last summer trolling cigar minnows (on a triple hook set up under a duster) along the buoy line out of Mexico Beach. It’s only 20-30 ft. deep in that area (deeper in the channel). See attached pic of that exact area. I’ve always thought about trying that same thing along the 20-30 ft water around the Ochlockonee Schoals. Maybe a little deeper as water temps rise?

I’m sure someone on here has it dialed in for this area.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
tailwaters

Post by tailwaters »