Mangrove snapper

This area is for general discussions about fishing, rigging, baits, etc.

Moderators: bman, Chalk, Tom Keels

V20theellymay

Mangrove snapper

Post by V20theellymay »

Looking for some tips to get on some mAngrove snapper this month. Out of the hatch or Yankeetown any suggestions never caught one before have 21’ bay boat. And all needed gear

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
leonreno

Re: Mangrove snapper

Post by leonreno »

#metoo
V20theellymay

Post by V20theellymay »

I’ll find them was hoping someone might chime in a point me in the right direction lol

Juan
Site Sponsor

Post by Juan »

I'm no expert but when I target mangroves I'll fish around the larger boats at dock, docks, and jetties. They're smart and easily spooked so I use a small hook hidden in live bait (usually shrimp) and the lightest fluorocarbon leader I feel comfortable with.
Life is short.... Ride a Harley and fish a Sea Pro
http://seaproforum.proboards.com/
ugadawg
Site Sponsor

Post by ugadawg »

I used to catch them pretty regularly in the St. Marks River. Live shrimp, a small hook, and fluorocarbon leader did the trick.
V20theellymay

Post by V20theellymay »

I usually only use a 20lb fluro leader for most everything. I’m a bass fisherman by upbringing bored with lakes and trying to branch out.

bbb

Post by bbb »

The Mangrove has become my nemesis.

Think turkey hunting. Some days they just fall in your lap. Other days, they make you into a fool.

Use lots of chum. Most of the time you can get them about 10-20’ below the boat. Use 10’ of 15-20# fluoro. 1/4-1/8oz jig head. Chunk of cigar minnow. Toss back and Let the bait fall naturally to the bottom. Reel up and send it again.

5 weeks ago we went and caught 5. 3 weeks ago we caught 18, and kept 15. Thinking we had it figured out, last weekend we caught 1 Saturday and 1 Sunday.
V20theellymay

Post by V20theellymay »