St Marks or St Teresa Wade fishing

This area is for general discussions about fishing, rigging, baits, etc.

Moderators: bman, Chalk, Tom Keels

jss12121

St Marks or St Teresa Wade fishing

Post by jss12121 »

I'm a FSU student with some experience wading the Port Saint Joe area. I would love to bend the rod this weekend without driving out there. For someone relatively new to the local area I would love some advice on St Teresa vs St Marks on where I should go try to catch some reds. Thanks!
Salty Gator
Site Sponsor

Re: St Marks or St Teresa Wade fishing

Post by Salty Gator »

With the nasty e ne wind that is predicted, you may want to try alligator harbor. You may have more relief there than st Theresa or st marks. Or see about renting a kayak and that opens up a lot more options. Good luck
Catholic girl pray for me, you’re my only hope for heaven
GaryDroze
Site Sponsor

Post by GaryDroze »

If you do not mind getting muddy and hiking a good ways, there are up to five tidal creeks east of the St Marks lighthouse that all hold fish at low tide. Some folks kayak to them from the bay; I prefer to hike/bike along the levees, then wade them towards the bay. They are too dangerous to wade at high tide (alligators), but high tide offers bank fishing from Deep Creek levee. The St Marks HQ office has nice maps that show levees & their proximity to creeks. It took me 10 years to learn the tidal creeks, but once you get familiar with them, they are great producers.
silverking
Site Sponsor

Post by silverking »

Another vote for Alligator Harbor. The north shoreline either side of the sand ramp (across from the clam leases) is hard bottom and good spots for reds. Tote a couple Aqua Dream spoons and fire away.
"Sun rise and sun sets. Since the beginning, it hasn't changed yet." Little Feat
Tallyfins

Post by Tallyfins »