Tips for Cobia Fishing (New to Big Bend Area)

This area is for general discussions about fishing, rigging, baits, etc.

Moderators: bman, Chalk, Tom Keels

PWurm2020

Tips for Cobia Fishing (New to Big Bend Area)

Post by PWurm2020 »

Hello,

I'm new to the Big Bend area and new to fishing out of this area (Apalachee Bay) in general. I'm transitioning over to Cobia fishing, looking to land my first Cobia and hopefully a keeper at that. I was hoping anyone could share some advice on rigging setups? I don't have a trolling motor or push pole so sight casting is probably a no-go for me. I'm thinking of staying out in the 15-30 foot depth range about 8 - 12 miles out, primarily anchoring up over some wreck or reefs. I've been told live shrimp are a killer for Cobia and was probably going to work a decent chum line with a live shrimp on the bottom and another floating off a cork in mid-water column.

In general any advice is greatly appreciated, including how to land them. I heard Cobia tend to save the best fight for when they're on the boat!
Badfish

Re: Tips for Cobia Fishing (New to Big Bend Area)

Post by Badfish »

You nailed it with the whole anchor and chum on structure. However, you will have a problem keeping the non desirable fish off of a live shrimp. Take a few minutes on the flats and catch a few live pinfish for bait. In my opinion free lining is the way to go and if the cobia are there it wont take them long to sniff you out.
procraftwes
Site Sponsor

Post by procraftwes »

To start out fish for other stuff and have a rod rigged to toss at a cobia. You may get frustrated otherwise.
PWurm2020

Post by PWurm2020 »

Badfish wrote:You nailed it with the whole anchor and chum on structure. However, you will have a problem keeping the non desirable fish off of a live shrimp. Take a few minutes on the flats and catch a few live pinfish for bait. In my opinion free lining is the way to go and if the cobia are there it wont take them long to sniff you out.