Tate's Hell Turkey Hunting

For all your hunting related posts! If we get enough traffic here there will be other sub forums: Turkey Hunting, Deer Hunting, Duck Hunting...

Moderators: bman, Chalk, Tom Keels

flyfisher

Post by flyfisher »

I am new to turkey hunting, having only been out a few times on a buddy's lease. I applied for some limited quotas in the NWR, but didn't draw in the first phase. Put in a second time and drew a Tate's Hell permit.

From what I've seen on other forums, most people who have had success near the SW river system on the WMA; however, it seemed that very few were ever successful.

Just posting today to see if anyone else had experience in the unit or in the general region.
bbb

Post by bbb »

Turkey hunting on public land= don't call much, if at all. Set up in a good ambush spot.
onefishtwofish
Site Sponsor

Re: Tate's Hell Turkey Hunting

Post by onefishtwofish »

Scout. Then scout some more. Then scout again. You should have a strong game plan set by opening day. Then be prepared to change it 5 times on the first morning. Improvise, adapt, overcome.
Ducks, turkeys, flats fishing. Who has time for golf?
Danibeth

Re: Tate's Hell Turkey Hunting

Post by Danibeth »

I second scouting, scouting, more scouting, scout a little more, and just for a change of pace, scout a little more. Learn the terrain. Be prepared to know exactly where the birds are, only to show up the next morning and you can't even buy a turkey. They're maddening, frustrating and aggravating creatures. I love em.....