New to salt water boating. Need info.

All things having to do with boats, trailers, engines, electronics and accessories.

Moderators: bman, Chalk, Tom Keels

BayGulf

New to salt water boating. Need info.

Post by BayGulf »

Hello:

I am trying to get good information on what types of boat I should be considering. I am new to the Florida panhandle and will be doing most of my fishing in the bays near Appalachicola. However, I will want to venture into the gulf, perhaps 10 miles offshore to take advantage of some of the reefs.

Since most of the use will be in the bays, I will want a boat that is good for that kind of fishing. My forays into the gulf will be on calm days only. There are also king fish runs outside the bays, but only a couple of miles outside, that I would like to take advantage of.

Is it advisable to use something like a 20 foot bay boat with a 100-ish horsepower engine to go outside the bays?

Can you recommend a good source of information that will help me learn the details of what kind of boat I should be shopping for? I will also appreciate any advice you have if you have solved this problem for yourself.

Also, can you recommend how I learn the safety and seamanship issues that I need to know.

I'm used to fishing a 14 foot aluminum boat with 15hp in fresh water, so this is all new to me.

Thanks.
BayGulf
Flint River Pirate
Site Sponsor

Re: New to salt water boating. Need info.

Post by Flint River Pirate »

BayGulf wrote:
I'm used to fishing a 14 foot aluminum boat with 15hp in fresh water, so this is all new to me.

If you watch the wetaher, that boat will work for the flats. Several of us use a jon boat. welcome to the forum. Be careful out there.
Team Jolly Mon
big bend gyrene

Post by big bend gyrene »

BayGulf wrote:Is it advisable to use something like a 20 foot bay boat with a 100-ish horsepower engine to go outside the bays?