Aucilla River Question

This area is for general discussions about fishing, rigging, baits, etc.

Moderators: bman, Chalk, Tom Keels

redfishfun23

Aucilla River Question

Post by redfishfun23 »

Hey everyone! Newbie here! I have never been out of the Aucilla RIver and was thinking of trying it soon. i usually go out of St. Marks but want to try a new area. Where can I put in and I have heard stories of the rocks in the river can make navigation tricky. Any info or tips on getting to the gulf without becoming friendly with the rocks would be greatly appreciated. Hey while I am asking any super secret fishing spots would be great too!!! Ok maybe too much to ask! Thank you and I look forward to being a part of big bend fishing family!
onefishtwofish
Site Sponsor

Re: Aucilla River Question

Post by onefishtwofish »

Seriously, the rocks are everywhere. Everywhere. Seriously. The river at high tide is pretty safe until you get just about to the mouth. There is a bar across the river, just before the mouth opens-it is fine at a real high tide, but gets pretty shallow on a rising or falling tide. Once out of the mouth, there are rocks everywhere. Hugging the east side as you go out is best, but there are still rocks. I have lost one prop and one lower unit to the Aucilla (see my recent post on the boating section). My best advice is to head out at a 0 tide, creep down the river and take note of where everything is. I have retired my Ranger from the Aucilla and will now just use my duck boat to fish it. Did I mention there are a lot of rocks?

Oh yeah, welcome aboard!
Ducks, turkeys, flats fishing. Who has time for golf?
Redbelly
Site Sponsor

Post by Redbelly »

Some say the rocks move around at Aucilla. Just go sssslllloooowwww.
Work 2 fish 4 days

1988 vintage 1436 Fisher Jon
1992 vintage 15 hp Merc
redfishfun23

Post by redfishfun23 »