Grouper Tackle

This area is for general discussions about fishing, rigging, baits, etc.

Moderators: bman, Chalk, Tom Keels

RC
Site Sponsor

Grouper Tackle

Post by RC »

This is my first attempt at posting on this site so forgive me if I get it wrong. I have been reading the site for over a year now and just got brave enough to try it. Mostly I fish out of the aucilla, ickenfina (or however you spell it) and keton beach areas for reds and trout but I am thinking about venturing offshore for grouper and snapper. I have lots of inshore tackle, too much, but most of my bottom fishing gear is old. For the last 10 yrs. or so I have been in the Titusville Fl. area and fished mostly for reds. I grew up in Albany and I am back home now and rediscovering my old stomping grounds. It seems like since the net ban and new limits that people are finding grouper in much shallower water than what we fished back in the 70's. My question is what kind of tackle. spin or conventional, line test, class of rods, are most of you using. Is anyone using the new spectra line on their bottom fishing reels. How deep are you mostly fishing and how far offshore would you need to go out of St. Marks.
Any help you can give me would help.

PS Tom my check is in the mail
Ken K
Site Sponsor

Post by Ken K »

Welcome aboard RC.

Just because your old tackle is old doesn't necessarily mean it isn't any good. Not that I would discourage anybody from buying any new tackle or anything.

This board is usually pretty slow on the weekend but I'm sure you will get some good advice from the resident experts no later than Monday, noon.
Ken
Tom Keels
Site Admin

Re: Grouper Tackle

Post by Tom Keels »

RC wrote:My question is what kind of tackle. spin or conventional,
I like conventional. A penn 112H or 113H is all you need. I also like to jig and use sligtly heaver than normal trout tackle for that.
RC wrote:line test,