Will pay to learn how to catch a Sheepshead before Labor Day

This section is for our members to talk about things not actually about fishing or boating. However, please read the Code of Conduct before posting.

Moderators: bman, Chalk, Tom Keels

GaryDroze
Site Sponsor

Will pay to learn how to catch a Sheepshead before Labor Day

Post by GaryDroze »

True confessions...

I have caught a grand total of ONE Sheepie in 22 years of fishing Apalachee Bay (mostly St Marks Refuge). Dave Lear convinced me to register for the CCA Star Tourney, which goes all summer and includes a Sheepshead division. I have located them in refuge creeks, and even got them to bite on fiddler crabs, but can't manage to bring one in. They either steal my bait or flop off. So frustrated that this has now turned into a bucket list venture. School starts up in five weeks (I'm a teacher), so I have until then to land one of these wily convict fish.

If there are any Sheepie experts out there who can help me, I will reward you with money, redfish tips on my best refuge tidal creeks, or a free meal, featuring one of the two the two items my track team kids request : largemouth bass ceviche or grilled redfish.

Gary
big bend gyrene

Re: Will pay to learn how to catch a Sheepshead before Labor

Post by big bend gyrene »

Gary, are you wanting/needing to keep the fishing restricted to land based?

Know of a boating spot that is very productive, but I only have targeted them in the winter. Will PM you with the details for whatever they may or may not be worth.
"The Marines I have seen around the world have the cleanest bodies, the filthiest minds, the highest morale, and the lowest morals of any group of animals I have ever seen. Thank GOD for the United States Marine Corps." Eleanor Roosevelt, 1945
flatsbroke22

Post by flatsbroke22 »