Cast net recommendations

This area is for general discussions about fishing, rigging, baits, etc.

Moderators: bman, Chalk, Tom Keels

Eliza

Cast net recommendations

Post by Eliza »

Hey guys! :smt006

I'm new to fishing this area. I'm a pretty-well seasoned with striped bass fishing in the Atlantic. Now that I'm on the Gulf, I have so much to learn!!
I really want to learn how to use a cast net this year (and bow fish.. but that's for another post and for when I have more money LOL).

What do y'all recommend for a cast net? Does it matter that I'm a woman (like, do I need a net with lighter weights?)

I appreciate any advice y'all are willing to give.
:D
Happy fishing!
I like people who are DTF... down to fish!!
Gulf Coast
Site Sponsor

Re: Cast net recommendations

Post by Gulf Coast »

Am I dreaming ? :smt004
Salty Gator
Site Sponsor

Post by Salty Gator »

It depends on what you want to net. Bait? Mullet? And how deep of water you intend to use it. If you just want to learn, a 6' bait net would be a good start. And nets are like anything else, you can spend a little or a lot. Good luck
Catholic girl pray for me, you’re my only hope for heaven
Eliza

Post by Eliza »

Salty Gator wrote:It depends on what you want to net. Bait? Mullet? And how deep of water you intend to use it. If you just want to learn, a 6' bait net would be a good start. And nets are like anything else, you can spend a little or a lot. Good luck
Thank you! I definitely want to catch bait AND mullet... mullet dip... yummmmm :lick:
Salty Gator
Site Sponsor

Post by Salty Gator »