Yellowflies

This area is for general discussions about fishing, rigging, baits, etc.

Moderators: bman, Chalk, Tom Keels

woodstock52
Site Sponsor

Yellowflies

Post by woodstock52 »

For the Yellow Flies
I boat a lot & have a place on the St Marks. My wife swells up & hurts if a Yellow Fly bites her.
I found out several years ago, by accident, that Austrian Gold sunscreen works GREAT for more than sun protection!!!!
I use 30 or 50spf but I don't think that matters. I have been using it for 3 years & when the fly's aren't around, its a great sunscreen. It only takes a small amount, but do not miss a spot if you expect the Yellow Flies to be out.
They will find that missed spot. I had two bite me by on the underside of my wrist my wristwatch band. Not one other bite all day.
I have shared this info with some friends who now use it for there paddle board/kayak trips. I saw them on the river a few days ago, & they were amazed at how well it works.

Try It
wallisam

Re: Yellowflies

Post by wallisam »

skin so soft, from Avon works great also
Hit-n-Miss

Post by Hit-n-Miss »

And I keep a fly swatter in the boat for the biting flys out on the flats.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
PhishingNole

Post by PhishingNole »

woodstock52 wrote:For the Yellow Flies
I boat a lot & have a place on the St Marks. My wife swells up & hurts if a Yellow Fly bites her.
I found out several years ago, by accident, that Austrian Gold sunscreen works GREAT for more than sun protection!!!!
I use 30 or 50spf but I don't think that matters. I have been using it for 3 years & when the fly's aren't around, its a great sunscreen. It only takes a small amount, but do not miss a spot if you expect the Yellow Flies to be out.
They will find that missed spot. I had two bite me by on the underside of my wrist my wristwatch band. Not one other bite all day.