Best Inshore Patterns

The place to discuss the finer points of fly fishing.

Moderators: bman, Chalk, Tom Keels

willfishforfood

Best Inshore Patterns

Post by willfishforfood »

I am getting ready to move back into the area and picked up fly fishing the last 2 years while living around the Ozarks and love it. I am wanting to try my luck and combining it with my true love, saltwater. Are there any patterns that you would recommend? Would you recommend starting dry or wet flies? Any other tips for the transitioning into salt? Thanks
One Keeper

Re: Best Inshore Patterns

Post by One Keeper »

We have a few well seasoned Buggy whippers on this site, maybe they'll chime in. :thumbup: good luck.
FlyrodC

Post by FlyrodC »

I'm far from an expert at inshore fishing but if I was going to recommend a half dozen patterns, here they are.

Clousers Minnow - chartreuse and white, red lead eyes
Duprees spoon fly
Kwan
Borski's slider
Popper
Small tan crab pattern

You'll need to read up on how to retrieve each of them. Lord Google is your friend.

Good luck!
Terrier

Post by Terrier »

Clousers - #2, #4, chartreuse over white, olive over chart. over white (or tan) with gold,pearl and copper flash, all white, all black. Sometimes a pink, red or orange fluoro fiber 'throat' added to the clouser really sets therm off. Bead head or light barbell eyes is what I use.
Gartside gurgler - white or tan. Trout on a topwater is a blast, but reds will take it as will spanish and ladies (and Tarpon!)
EP Minnow - chart over white, olive and/or tan over white (pinfish colors), all white, all black, black over purple, etc -
a shrimp pattern - FC sand shrimp is an easy tie and works well
seaducer
redfish crack pattern - olives and tans

I have my favorite colors, but I don't think that makes a big difference as long as it's dark over light and has a good contrast. The brighter the day and clearer the water, the lighter color the fly.