Trailer tire pressure?

All things having to do with boats, trailers, engines, electronics and accessories.

Moderators: bman, Chalk, Tom Keels

Juan
Site Sponsor

Trailer tire pressure?

Post by Juan »

How much air (psi) should I have in trailer tires that have a max cold rating of 50 psi? I always thought you were supposed to inflate the tires to max rating while cold so I've run 50 psi in my trailer tires forever and without incident but I accidently put 77 psi in a tire yesterday and it exploded 10 miles from the house this morning. I bought a new tire from the tire center I've been using for 20+ years and they told me I should be running no more than 32-35 psi. Does that sound right? I lowered them to 40 psi and they look underinflated to me.
I also had them put new tires on my truck while I was there and they said that most truck tires should be inflated to no more than 35 psi and I should inflate to whatever the sticker in the door jamb says . (which is 35 psi) The tires have a max cold rating of 51 psi so why shouldn't I inflate to 51?
I've Googled until I'm cross eyed and get conflicting stories... some say inflate to max psi cold and others say inflate to the # on the door jamb no matter what the tires say... I'd like to get this right since I didn't get anywhere near the mileage I think I should have from my last few sets of tires.
I'm more confused than usual at this point. :smt017
Life is short.... Ride a Harley and fish a Sea Pro
http://seaproforum.proboards.com/
flatsbroke22

Re: Trailer tire pressure?

Post by flatsbroke22 »

I’ve always done the same. I run between 45-50 cold and never had any issues.
2002 Pathfinder 2200v ‘21 200 Suzuki
bbb

Post by bbb »

Aren’t those inflate numbers for Max Load.

I’m sure your running around unloaded so why over-inflate the tires?

I run my dual axle trailer tires between 35-40. They are rated up to 50.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
STMU

Post by STMU »