Locating Redfish/Trout

This area is for general discussions about fishing, rigging, baits, etc.

Moderators: bman, Chalk, Tom Keels

mojokoko

Locating Redfish/Trout

Post by mojokoko »

I don't want anyone to give me any secrets or anything. I was wondering how you guys locate trout or redfish? Are there signs you look for besides bait fish attacking the topwater and obviously around oyster bars?
beatswork

Post by beatswork »

Depends a lot on time of year, weather etc. Winter time fish when it's cold will go further up spring fed creeks in search of that 72 degree water. I like fishing around the points and oyster bars for redfish and trout. On the flats I like to try to find sandy potholes in the grass. Fish lie in wait and attack around these potholes. I like to find rocky areas around creek mouths and let my bait drift past them as well as bars. I'm no pro, but have put a couple fish in the cooler. Find structure, something the fish can hide around to ambush their prey, could be rocks, could be grass, and you should find fish. But then you could start talking about tides, salinity, stained vs. clear water. So many variables so little time. Take up golf :smt004
If we are not supposed to eat animals, why are they made out of meat?
jsuber
Site Sponsor

Post by jsuber »

I've been using a system that Garmin has asked me to trial for them and its basically a forward, backward and side looking sonar as well as down. It uses a sonar that is much like a radome under water. The kicker is that instead of looking at the screen you wear glasses that are interfaced with Bluetooth technology and you look out on the water for up to 100 meters and you can see where the fish are located with the glasses. Works pretty good in up to 8 inches of water. i'll give you more info when the trial is over.
mojokoko

Post by mojokoko »

Your kidding me right?
:o
Jumptrout51
Site Sponsor

Post by Jumptrout51 »