Hello from Dothan

All things dealing with kayaks and kayak fishing.

Moderators: bman, Chalk, Tom Keels

FISHERNORM

Hello from Dothan

Post by FISHERNORM »

Hello all, I'm new to kayak fishing. I don't own a yak yet. Anyone in or near Dothan that wouldn't mind offering a "newbie" guidance? I'm mainly interested in salt water fishing. Although an occasional visit to a lake or river to fish would be great too.
Sea Dawg
Site Sponsor

Re: Hello from Dothan

Post by Sea Dawg »

Welcome aboard Fishernorm ..there a Guy that lives in dothan that come in the room his handle is Olddog i think..
FISHERNORM

Post by FISHERNORM »

Hello Sea Dog, thanks for the warm welcome and the info. I've been browsing up here and getting some good info. I'll have to confess that my selection of lures are slim. I'm trying to get a suggested list of lures to have in my arsenal.
tin can
Site Sponsor

Post by tin can »

Welcome aboard Fishernorm
FISHERNORM wrote: I'll have to confess that my selection of lures are slim. I'm trying to get a suggested list of lures to have in my arsenal.
Hang around here, meet a few folks, and talk to a few folks. Then, after a year or so, let us know how many lures you have. :-D :wink:

Personally, I only have 2 or three lures. :smt005
What was I supposed to do today?
FUTCHCAIRO

Post by FUTCHCAIRO »

YA MIGHT GIVE MY FRIEND DON TUCKER A CALL THERE IN DOTHAN, HE IS ONE HECK OF A FISHERMAN, TALK NICE TO HIM AND HE JUST MIGHT TAKE YA ON A TRIP.
PA THE OLD MAN OF THE SEA :smt006 salute2
FUTCHCAIRO
red_yakker
Site Sponsor

Post by red_yakker »

BIGGEST WORD OF ADVICE TO SOMEONE NEW TO KAYAK FISHING: DON'T SKIMP ON THE YAK!

BUY ONE THAT HAS ENOUGH WEIGHT CAPACITY TO KEEP YOU UP OUT OF THE WATER. REMEMBER, THE LONGER THEY ARE, THE BETTER THEY WILL TRACK, MEANING MORE SPEED EASIER. THE SHORTER ONES DON'T TRACK AS WELL (UNLESS YOU HAVE A RUDDER), BUT THEY ARE MORE MANUVERABLE.