Flyfishing rookie

The place to discuss the finer points of fly fishing.

Moderators: bman, Chalk, Tom Keels

camperkilgore

Flyfishing rookie

Post by camperkilgore »

Just discovered this forum a short while ago, and I would like to get into flyfishing.
I've done some regular fishing around here for a long time, but I'm not an old pro by any means. I'm an old retired guy, and my wife and I are planning a trip out west maybe next year. I would like to get a little flyfishing experience under my belt before trying it out there. Of course it will be a lot different fishing out there, but I would think that the basics would be the same, so if I can pick up some pointers from you folks, I would appreciate it.
I can cast fairly well with the cheapo setup from Wal-mart, but I don't know much about fly selection for wintertime trout and redfish. I know I need to enroll in a class of some sort, so if anyone can help me out with info I'd appreciate it.
I might also add that I have a personal pontoon type boat (kickboat) made by North Fork Outdoors (Dave Scadden), and it is a great platform for flyfishing. It's stable and very maneuverable with fins. It probably is a boat that not too many people know about around here. I got it because we pull a fifthwheel and needed a boat that we could carry with us camping. I have a Yamaha 6hp and a trolling motor for it also. Here's a link to the kind I have:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-iAn650Q3XM
I worried a lot about oyster bars cutting the pontoon material, but I've had it all over them without any damage so far, and the guy that makes them guarantees the thing for life(or until he goes out of business, lol)
Thanks for any flyfishing info
Tom
Steve Stinson
Site Sponsor

Re: Flyfishing rookie

Post by Steve Stinson »

Welcome to the forum.