Student on a Budget Looking to buy used fishing Yak

All things dealing with kayaks and kayak fishing.

Moderators: bman, Chalk, Tom Keels

Midwest2South

Student on a Budget Looking to buy used fishing Yak

Post by Midwest2South »

Hello all,

I just moved here from Wisconsin and I am looking to purchase my first fishing kayak because, so far, I have only been able to fish from the shore

Also, I am a full time law student (read: lots of debt), so it would need to be a used kayak or one that I could afford.

Does anyone have any suggestions on where I could go about purchasing a used fishing kayak? Possibly a 2-seater?

It's driving me nuts not being able to get out on the water to do some fishing so I really need to take care of this soon..

Thanks for the advice!
big bend gyrene

Re: Student on a Budget Looking to buy used fishing Yak

Post by big bend gyrene »

Midwest2South, as both a canoe and boat owner... my .02 is that the smartest men I know are ones who HAVE REALLY GOOD FRIENDS WHO OWN BOATS! :wink: Partial joking aside, I have a buddy who also owns a boat and we take turns taking each other out and those days I just get to pull up with a few rods in hand are a hellz load easier/less costly than those where I have to tow the boat. :thumbup: :beer: If I were in your shoes, and money was as big of concern as you make it sound I would target some boat owners for friendship! :-D

As little as I've gone this year (1 lone trip) I should just loan you my boat. :smt010
"The Marines I have seen around the world have the cleanest bodies, the filthiest minds, the highest morale, and the lowest morals of any group of animals I have ever seen. Thank GOD for the United States Marine Corps." Eleanor Roosevelt, 1945
littlejohn
Site Sponsor

Post by littlejohn »

Check out Kayak Demo thread in Kayaking discussions.
lizbeth
Site Sponsor

Post by lizbeth »

http://tallahassee.craigslist.org/boa/2392726571.html

Ocean Prowler - $600 (Adel, GA)