Kayak Accessible Locations for March 1, 2014

All things dealing with kayaks and kayak fishing.

Moderators: bman, Chalk, Tom Keels

Gauppinho

Kayak Accessible Locations for March 1, 2014

Post by Gauppinho »

Hey Everyone,

Planning on doing some kayak fishing this weekend with my Dad. We are relatively new to the area and kayak fishing in general and I was looking for some suggestions on where to take the kayaks. Normally we fish off the Shell Point beach area and nearby Walker Creek and while it was great last Fall we haven't seen much action there over the winter. After doing some research on these forums and fcka, I think I want to try putting in at Wakulla Beach and heading east towards the East Goose Creek area. Anyone have any luck there recently? We are looking for any spots within ~1 hr drive from Shell Point.

I'm pretty new to fishing the flats and tidal systems along the Gulf Coast. We recently attended the Flats Pro Seminar at Shield's Marina and learned quite a bit in addition to having a great time. During the fall we just went straight off the beach and found trout, ladyfish, redfish, and little tunney but those same flats seemed pretty dead the couple of times I've tried this winter. Recently, I've read that during winter that we should be looking around creek mouths, oyster bars, and deeper holes in the rivers/creeks for trout and redfish. I've tried a little ways up Walker Creek on both high and low tides with no luck. How far up these creeks should we be trying to go? Do the fish push as far back up the creek as the incoming tide allows or do they generally hold somewhere?

Thanks in advance for any replies. I'll let ya'll know how we fare and I look forward to contributing some reports in the future when I can make it out on the water.
Luv2Yak

Re: Kayak Accessible Locations for March 1, 2014

Post by Luv2Yak »