ZTR Mowers

This section is for our members to talk about things not actually about fishing or boating. However, please read the Code of Conduct before posting.

Moderators: bman, Chalk, Tom Keels

Flint River Pirate
Site Sponsor

ZTR Mowers

Post by Flint River Pirate »

What kind of ZTR mowers do you guys have? I'm interested in the Hustler and especially the Scag
Last edited by Flint River Pirate on June 27th, 2014, 10:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Team Jolly Mon
slowroller
Site Sponsor

Re: ZTR Mowers

Post by slowroller »

I run a 717a JD 21hp kohler. Its a 48" and cuts good. Used it HARD for two years and just my yard for 2 years,1,000 hours-no problems. Scag would be my second choice. :beer: :thumbup:
FUTCHCAIRO

Post by FUTCHCAIRO »

I HAVE BEEN USING THE OLD STANDBY, CUB CADET FOR THE LAST 18 YRS, STILL STARTS EVERY TIME, EXCEPT WHEN I HAD A BAD BATTERY, HAVE REPLACED TWO BATTERIES IN THE LAST 18 YRS. HAVE HAD TO REPLACE THE SPINDLES ON THE MOWER DECK 3 TIMES IN THIS SAME TIME PERIOD. CUTS 42 INCHES AND HAS CHANGE GEARS ON THE GO, THE TIRES ARE JUST ABOUT TO WEAR OUT, WHAT CAN YOU EXPECT IN 18 YRS. I JUST REPLACE THE MAIN DECK DRIVE BELT, THIS IS THE 3RD ONE OF THESE I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE, REPLACE ONE TRANSMISSION DRIVE BELT. CHANGE THE OIL ONCE A YEAR WHETHER IT NEEDS IT OR NOT. BEEN MOWING ABOUT 17 ACRES IN THE FRONT YARD AND ABOUT 5 ACRES IN THE BACK ABOUT 6 TIMES A YEAR. CHANGED SPARK PLUGS AND WIRES SEVERAL TIMES, THE ENGINES STILL PURRRS LIKE A CAT AND USES NO OIL, NEVER HAD TO ADD ANY BETWEEN CHANGES. I DO NOT KNOW IF THEY STILL MAKE THE LITTLE CUB OR NOT, IT IS NOT ONE OF THOSE MTD MOWERS THEY CALL CUB CADET, IT IS THE TRUE FARMALL.
PA
SEMPR FI
FUTCHCAIRO
Flint River Pirate
Site Sponsor

Pa, Those old Cubs are fantastic. I've got one of the new ones and it's not the same type of machine.
Team Jolly Mon
MudDucker
Site Sponsor

Post by MudDucker »

Deere 42". Had it about 5 years and it still cutting.
Its a wonderful day in the neighborhood!