Deer processing without getting screwed

For all your hunting related posts! If we get enough traffic here there will be other sub forums: Turkey Hunting, Deer Hunting, Duck Hunting...

Moderators: bman, Chalk, Tom Keels

WolfeMan
Site Sponsor

Deer processing without getting screwed

Post by WolfeMan »

Simple question born from utter disgust for the way some friends and I were treated this deer season: where do you take your deer to be processed and how sure are you that you're getting ALL of YOUR meat?

As long as I've been hunting in North Florida I've been taking deer to Concord Deer Processing, every deer killed on the property I've been hunting has been taken there for 10+ years.

Never again.

Here are some examples of deer dropped off for processing and the resulting packaged meat.

All deer with maybe one exception were prepared the same way. Back-straps and tenderloins cut in half, rest of the deer half burger, half smoked sausage.

Opening week of bow/antlerless season weekend of bow season - 75 lb doe 2 mostly full grocery bags of meat
Second or third weekend of the season - 90 lb doe - Two heaping paper grocery bags full of meat.
Last month of season - 96 lb doe - 1 decent bag of meat plus 3-4 packs of ground.
Last weekend of season - 100 lb doe - 1 3/4 full bag of meat.
Last day of season - 160 lb 10-point 3.5 yr old buck - two half-full bags that equal one full bag.
Last day of season - 85 lb doe - one half full bag.