Question

All things having to do with boats, trailers, engines, electronics and accessories.

Moderators: bman, Chalk, Tom Keels

striker

Question

Post by striker »

Hello everyone!! I am new to this, so I will introduce myself. I am a pretty young angler. (24 yrs old).
I moved to Tallahasse about 2 years ago, and had never fished saltwater before. (Im from the middle of Texas). I became friends with an avid saltwater angler and he took me flats fishing and I fell in love. I am a pretty inexperianced angler and read and listen to just about everything I can get my hands on when it comes to inshore fishing. Well, he moved to Washington state in December and I bought his boat from him. A 19ft Key West. Well, everthing was great and then about a month ago, I started experiancing a few engine problems. Got most of them worked out, but here is my question:
What do you do if you are out and your engine breaks down??

Like I said I am pretty new to boating and have been venturing a little farther from the boat ramp each time I take her out, but I am afaid that I will get to far out and the engine not work. Then what?
I know this is a pretty elementry question but I would like to know what to do if I ever get into this predicament.
Thank you in advance!

P.S. I have been here long enough to know that we need that magic 68 degrees. Anyone know about when that happens around St. Marks?
Sir reel
Site Sponsor

Post by Sir reel »

Welcome Striker :D

I'm sure you'll get a good deal of advice but before that starts it would help to know what kind of equipment you carry with you. IE vhf, gps, flares, cell phone, etc.
"Good Judgement" comes from experience, ... and a lot of that..... results from "Bad Judgement".
striker

Post by striker »

I carry all of the above..GPS, VHF, Flares, and a cell phone.
GC
Site Sponsor

Post by GC »

Welcome Striker! :thumbup: