Fishing PFD

All things dealing with kayaks and kayak fishing.

Moderators: bman, Chalk, Tom Keels

SmyrnaKid

Fishing PFD

Post by SmyrnaKid »

After talking with the friendly Marine Patrol officer over Labor Day weekend :thumbup:, I'm now in the market for a fishing PFD. I'm new to kayak fishing and was wondering if anyone could recommend a comfortable PFD. I've done a little research online and two that I am considering are:

MTI Dorado

Stohlquist Fisherman PFD

Are there others that any of you would recommend? Got to have something for the week of July 4. :-)

Thanks for the help.
Soccerdad

Post by Soccerdad »

You probably have an Academy Sports up there in the big city (I've been to the new one in Macon and like their selection and price). I am considering this MTI vest from their selection

http://www.academy.com/index.php?page=c ... 40463-0709

mostly cause it has lots of pocketses. Given a head to head comparison with the Dorado I might go that way. I like the Stohlquist, but paid less for my wife .. might consider a second wife before I buy that one (one less antagonistic to all day angling).
If there's no soccer (or fishing) in heaven - I'm not going!
SmyrnaKid

Post by SmyrnaKid »

Thanks, Soccerdad. I don't believe there is an Academy Sports up here in Atlanta, but we've got a few simliar type places. Looks like it might be the Dorado for me. Thanks again.
jsuber
Site Sponsor

Post by jsuber »

They have an Academy in Macon, and they have a kayak fishing website up there called http://www.atlantakayakfishing.com . MTI is pretty popular around these parts and Bakertize over at TnT Hideaway on the Wakulla River and HWY 98 sells them.
KentuckyTwoStep

Post by KentuckyTwoStep »