Winter Kayaking

All things dealing with kayaks and kayak fishing.

Moderators: bman, Chalk, Tom Keels

PildoFSU

Winter Kayaking

Post by PildoFSU »

I was wondering if people could give me some ideas of clothing for kayaking between now and the warmer times? I'm fairly new to kayaking but would like to still go in the cold months if possible. Thanks in advance.
WaltDawg
Site Sponsor

Re: Winter Kayaking

Post by WaltDawg »

I use gortex pants and a water resistant jacket, but it depends how cold it is. Sometimes a ski jacket when it gets below freezing. A lot of people have frog toggs
red_yakker
Site Sponsor

Post by red_yakker »

I normally wear some sort of quick-dry pants and a jacket or pullover made of some sort of quick drying material. I've seen people who wear anything from rainsuits to waders, but for me it never really gets cold enough here to go that far.

I say just wear whatever you think will be comfortable to fish in. Remember that for most kayaks, staying dry isn't an option. You can try to go waterproof, but that may make for uncomfortable fishing/paddling. Your best bet is to just wear something that will dry out quickly.

Just my .02
The gods do not deduct from man's allotted span the hours spent in fishing. ~Babylonian Proverb
Talltails

Post by Talltails »

I fish a lot when it's the coldest. The colder the better. I have used waders and just about every combination of warm weather gear in the past. Now I wear neoprene wading boots. UnderArmor Coldweather long underwear top and bottom as a base layer. Colombia style pants. Waterproof windbreaker or jacket depending on the temperature.
The water is usually warmer than the air on cold mornings, so you get radiant heat at water level. As long as I don't get too wet and wear thin layers that wick moister, I'm very comfortable even in freezing conditions.
Tidedancer
Site Sponsor

Post by Tidedancer »