Early 7-10-11 (Keaton area)

Use this area to post inshore fishing reports from the area. Please try to include relevant information such as:
Location, date, time, water conditions, weather conditions, baits, techniques, species caught, etc.

Moderators: bman, Chalk, Tom Keels

red_yakker
Site Sponsor

Early 7-10-11 (Keaton area)

Post by red_yakker »

I worked in the field down around the beaches this past Friday afternoon. At one place, we noticed a huge school of mullet piled up in a bay, and stopped to watch them for a minute. Upon closer inspection, it turned out to be a mixture of mullet and redfish. We talked to a guy who lives right there who said they had been in there every day lately. Although I knew I wouldn't have time to go Saturday, I knew exactly where I'd be Sunday mornin. 8)

I got to the ramp just before 7:00 and had found my school of redfish by 7:05. I shut down the motor and decided to ease up on them with the trolling motor. I had been up the night before drying out my trolling motor with a hairdryer, but apparently it still had some moisture in it, because it kicked on and almost flipped off the bracket as soon as I hooked the 2nd cable to the terminal (It does this when I leave it out in the rain for too long and moisture accumulates in the head). I decided to scratch the trolling motor idea and use a paddle. The paddle was making too much noise and the reds were keeping their distance, but I finaly managed to position myself so that I'd drift right over them.