Fishing Seasons

This area is for general discussions about fishing, rigging, baits, etc.

Moderators: bman, Chalk, Tom Keels

YankeeFlyGuy

Fishing Seasons

Post by YankeeFlyGuy »

I've been coming down to the big bend for work for about 3 years now and try and fish every time I come. Looks like I'll be moving to the area in the summer of 2018.

One thing I still haven't figured out is the normal "best" time frame for fishing certain species. As I under stand it some of the species migrate and/or move up into the rivers at certain times of the year.

Can someone give me a quick general overview of the best times of the year to chase different fish?
YankeeFlyGuy

Re: Fishing Seasons

Post by YankeeFlyGuy »

Sorry, should have been more specific.

This would be for inshore type fishing from say a 21' or smaller boat.
FishWithChris

Post by FishWithChris »

I like to chase redfish all year long
I also like to chase trout all year long.

Grouper, Cobia, etc... all seasonal. There is a wealth of knowledge on this board. Pick a fish and search... (e.g. "Cobia season" will yield great results)
Three-fourths of the Earth's surface is water, and one-fourth is land. It is quite clear that the good Lord intended us to spend triple the amount of time fishing as taking care of the lawn. ~Chuck Clark

Image Image Image
Steve Stinson
Site Sponsor

Post by Steve Stinson »

It's the same trout and redfish moving around depending on temp. and salinity in the water. Cold weather makes them move up into the rivers and creeks where the water is warmer. Heavy rain will reduce the salinity in the water and move them back out on the flats. Warm weather also moves them out. Water temp below 55-58 degrees look in the creeks, 60 degrees and above look outside on the flats.

Keep in mind there are some resident creek/river fish all year.
YankeeFlyGuy

Post by YankeeFlyGuy »

Thanks! Exactly what I need.

So are cobia and tarpon to only ones that only come through during certain times?