Fall Flats Fishing

Use this area to post inshore fishing reports from the area. Please try to include relevant information such as:
Location, date, time, water conditions, weather conditions, baits, techniques, species caught, etc.

Moderators: bman, Chalk, Tom Keels

MAJMPS4

Fall Flats Fishing

Post by MAJMPS4 »

Haven't been on the flats in awhile due to football practice and teaching your children so you can fish :D . However, I am planning a trip on October 12. This is my first year at fishing the flats and learned alot about spring trout and other fish. What is the fall time like? Bait suggestions? Should the water temps begin to cool to bring the trout back into more shallow water. Planning on fishing the Fenholloway. Will appreciate all suggestions.

By the way it was sweet for UF to survive Neyland. Go GATORS :D :D

Tight Lines and Good Fishing.
U.S.
Army of ONE
Tom Keels
Site Admin

Post by Tom Keels »

In my opinion , Fall is the best time of year to fish the flats. October 12 should be smack in the middle of the best fishing. Top waters in 2-4 feet and cajun thunders with jigs in 4-6 feet should get you all the trout you want. Work the oyster bars and saw grass edges for red fish using gold spoons or jerkbaits. Big spanish should be moving back trough any day now. Nylure jigs and clark spoons, as well as live pinfish in 8 -12 feet should be deadly. Look for the bait schools and work the edges of them.
Tom Keels
Site Founder

MAJMPS4

Post by MAJMPS4 »

Thanks, Tom. I need to get what fishing in that I can before deer season begins.
U.S.
Army of ONE
trout fisher
Site Sponsor

Post by trout fisher »

If you have ONE good fall fishing trip you'll say to heck with deer season! It's very addictive. Anybody seeing any mullet? I hope they bunch up in the Aucilla again this year.

tf
Reel Country
Site Sponsor

Post by Reel Country »

TF, saw a ton of mullet over the weekend, but I was down fishing in Mosquito Lagoon.