Baitcaster vs Spinning -Which one?

This area is for general discussions about fishing, rigging, baits, etc.

Moderators: bman, Chalk, Tom Keels

Littoral

Baitcaster vs Spinning -Which one?

Post by Littoral »

:smt062
At about age 4 I graduated from the ole 33 to spinning gear.
Since then, I don't seem to have had too much difficulty. :smt019
(Birddog & Jumptrout :D )
But hey, maybe the baitcasters are worth learning. The Texas inshore people seem to prefer them.
So, beyond preference, why use a baitcaster?
Dubble Trubble
Site Sponsor

Post by Dubble Trubble »

Baitcasters are great for people that can not catch fish. It gives them something to do while out on the water. (Untangle a mess).

:smt005 :beer:
Charles
Site Sponsor

Post by Charles »

Beyond personal preference, I don't think there's a whole lot of advantages of one over the other.

I prefer baitcasters because the same weight oufit, say 12 lb., can be had in a smaller overall package than with spinning, because the reel sits right on the rod. But then, I also prefer shorter rods, too. With the exception of fly, none of my rods are over 6'.

While it's true that spinning allows throwing lighter lures with less problems, I feel that casting gives me more control.

Baitcasting is also more accurate when casting. With a little judicious thumbing and a little angle to the rod, a lure can be steered a little left or right after it's in the air. I've never heard of anybody that can do this with spinning gear. I can't.
Tom Keels
Site Admin

Post by Tom Keels »

There are places for both. I carry both. For CT's I always use a spinner and a 7 foot rod. I defy anyone to cast further than I can with either spinning or bait casting.

For me personally I am much more precise with spinning than with bc. This is most likely because growing up spin was all I used for everything.